2 months basic..._ -the violin

For musos and music appreciaters alike, talk about music of any kind from everywhere.
Jason Tee
VMF Reg

2 months basic..._ -the violin

Post by Jason Tee »

hey hey people..

I've been self-learning the violin for 2 months now..
Well..any advices on which simple pieces i should practice more often?
I've been playing the scales, but not that often....

any advices anyone?
I can now read the notes fast....

THanks..
Jason Tee
MSam
VMF Reg

Post by MSam »

Violin is one of the most difficult and technically demanding instruments you can possibly play. Before you start playing, check the basics. Are you holding the bow correctly? Do you have correct posture? If not, fix them immediately. If you wish to play violin seriously, you need to master these properly. If you do not, it may make it absolutely impossible for you to improve in the future.

Sorry, I have no idea what your planning to play with the violin - I just thought you should know that incase you don't know already. It's very frustrating for me, who has been learning violin for several years that my technique could restrict my chances of becoming a professional violinist. Thankfully, we are resolving these issues, and since I'm quite young, it will be slightly easier - not easy at all though.

Okay, but you asked for music - not my advice on skill! For beginners such as your self, check out easy and simple music to start off with. In Australia, we have several beginner series that are very good for just getting the hang of violin. All for Strings, Standard Book of Excellence for Strings and Strings 2000 are all good starting points, so if you see any of those books while shopping for music I recommend any of them for learning points.